Leadership: Board of Trustees & Cabinet

Board of Trustees

The Friends University Board of Trustees is vested with ultimate authority for the general, academic and financial policy-making functions for Friends University. Trustees are responsible for the University’s financial health and welfare and exercise their institutional authority in a fiduciary capacity. The board is responsible for selecting the president, reviewing and approving major changes to academic programs, and determining institutional policies bearing on faculty appointment, tenure and promotion.

Trustees are responsible for monitoring the financial condition of the University, ensuring that appropriate policies and procedures are in place and functioning for the institution’s assets, investments, and physical plants. As such, the board approves the annual budget, including tuition and fees. Through its bylaws, the Board of Trustees is responsible for other fiduciary duties and works closely with the president, who is charged with the day-to-day administration of the university.

Dr. Kevin Hoppock, chair of the Friends University Board of Trustees, welcomes your questions or comments. Contact boardchairfriendsu@gmail.com or 316-295-5888.

Executive Committee

Kevin Hoppock

Dr. Kevin Hoppock, Chair

  • Family Physician
  • Via Christi Clinic Northeast
Dr. John Lewis, DDS, Chair

Dr. John Lewis, DDS, Vice Chair

  • Dentist
  • Wichita Dental Group, PA
Bob Casper

Mr. Bob Casper, Treasurer

  • President and CEO
  • POET Ethanol Products
Mrs. Lynn Ghormley

Mrs. Lynn Ghormley, Secretary

  • Retired Music Educator
Mrs. Kim Duggar Atwater

Mrs. Kim Dugger Attwater

  • Corporate Sales Trainer and Public Relations
  • Mike Steven Auto Group
Paul Moore, Vice Chair

Mr. Paul Moore

  • Senior Portfolio Manager
  • INTRUST Bank
Mr. Kevin Henderson

Mr. Kevin Henderson

  • Paper Broker
  • National Fiber Supply Co.
Mr. Jim Nagy

Mr. Jim Nagy

  • Executive Vice President and Global Chief Human Resources Officer
  • GM Financial


  • Mr. Craig Bay
  • Dr. Kneeland Brown
  • Mr. Brent Edmisten
  • Dr. Jace Hyder
  • Mrs. Regina Miller
  • Mrs. Renae Ryan
  • Mr. Jeff Ramsey
  • Dr. Thayne Thompson
  • Dr. Kent Walkemeyer
  • Mr. C. Patrick Woods

Friends University Cabinet

Current Friends’ cabinet members include: Dr. Amy Bragg Carey, President; Dr. Guy Chmieleski, Vice President of Student Affairs, Campus Pastor and Dean of Campus Ministries; Vernon Dolezal , Vice President of Finance; Dr. Jasper Lesage, Vice President of Academic Affairs; Deb Stockman, Vice President of Enrollment Management; Kelley Williams, Vice President of Administration

Guy Chmieleski

Dr. Guy Chmieleski

  • Vice President of Student Affairs, Dean of Campus Ministries
  • President’s Office

Deb Stockman

Deb Stockman

  • Vice President of Enrollment Management
  • Enrollment Management

Kenneth Stoltzfus

Dr. Ken Stoltzfus

  • Dean of the College of Business, Arts, Sciences and Education
  • Academic Affairs